Why can't they add a feature where you can replace the old MCreator files when downloading?

Started by NiteDasher on Sun, 10/11/2015 - 23:22
Last seen on 19:18, 26. Nov 2015
Joined Oct 2015
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
Why can't they add a feature where you can replace the old MCreator files when downloading?
Sun, 10/11/2015 - 23:22

Whenever MCreator gets an update and I open it, it says "Hey, new update!" like usual.

I download the new version, let it install, reconfigure the paths for my shortcut, import my mods, and new version!

But the one thing that bugs me is that it doesn't delete the other MCreator files. And changing the paths is tiring enough. And users probably don't want that version on their PC anymore, but since this is made for people not good at coding, they might get scared on deleting it.

So why can't Pylo just make a button that you press which saves and closes MCreator, starts downloading the new version, deletes the other files, adds in the files for the mods you worked on, and then you can just sign in to your account?
 

Please, Pylo, take some time and try and add this feature. It's been bugging me and I'm getting tired of deleting old files, half the time I get worried if the old verison is open or I'm deleting the wrong save, or I haven't backed up my mods yet...

 

Seriously. I might stop using MCreator if this continues.

Last seen on 14:23, 5. Jul 2016
Joined Dec 2014
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
Don't worry. Export to .mcr
Fri, 10/16/2015 - 16:19

Don't worry. Export to .mcr file downloade the new version of mcreator and delete all the old files and replase with the new one and import .mcr file.

Last seen on 19:18, 26. Nov 2015
Joined Oct 2015
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
I know you can do that. That
Sun, 10/18/2015 - 20:49

I know you can do that. That's not the point.