[TUTORIAL] How to use Nerdy's TerraBlender Plugin

Started by NerdyPuzzle on Tue, 11/01/2022 - 15:02

Topic category: User side tutorials

Last seen on 14:39, 3. Dec 2022
Joined Jul 2022
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
[TUTORIAL] How to use Nerdy's TerraBlender Plugin
Wed, 11/16/2022 - 19:59 (edited)

How to use Nerdy's Terrablender Plugin

 

Enabling the API

 

This plugin uses an external API (which your exported mod will require). To enable that API and use the plugin's features, you will need to go to workspace settings ---> External APIs

Code

Here, If you have installed the plugin correctly, TerraBlender will be part of the list. Enable it, and click save.

list of apis

 

Creating the regions

 

Once the API is enabled, you will notice that you have gotten an error. This is normal since you have yet to create the region procedures that the plugin is trying to find.

You will need to create the procedures with the same names as those below.

OverworldRegionNetherRegion

Do ensure that you use the exact names, as capitalization is important.

In the region procedures, you will need to use the Setup regions (TerraBlender) event and the Create *YourRegionType* region with biomes procedure block.

These will only be used once, you should not register any more regions unless you plan on using custom code.

For now, save them both using the No biomes block in the statement.

Createregion

 

Adding biomes to regions

 

Now that you have saved both of your procedures, you should no longer have any build errors. If not, then check that you have correctly named your procedures, and have not selected the same region dimension for both. The nether region uses the nether option in the procedure block.

To add biomes to your region, you will need to use one procedure blocks below.

adding biomes

The first procedure will generate the biomes with similar generation conditions to the biome that you select. Note that this cannot be a custom biome, and some biomes in the selector will cause errors due to issues with using MCreator's biome datalist. Simply choose a different biome if that is the case.

The second procedure will generate your biome on top of a vanilla biome's terrain, replacing it with its own. If your biome's weight is high enough, it will completely replace the biome. Just like the first procedure, you cannot select custom biomes in the biome selector.

Your biome's name capitalization will not matter, but the name must match the registry name of your biome. (This can be seen when naming an element. Example: TestBiome should be written as test_biome)

 

Changing your regions' weight

 

The weight of both regions is by default set to 3. While this is fine if you do not plan on adding more than a couple of biomes, this will not be enough if your mod includes a large amount. To fix this issue, you can modify the default weight using the procedure shown below. This does not require a specific name.

weights

You can experiment with the values and use what works best for you.

 

That's it! Now your biomes should properly generate using the TerraBlender regions

 

If you haven't downloaded the plugin yet, you can find it here

Edited by NerdyPuzzle on Wed, 11/16/2022 - 19:59
Last seen on 14:39, 3. Dec 2022
Joined Jul 2022
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
The plugin has not yet been…
Tue, 11/01/2022 - 15:03

The plugin has not yet been approved, as I have just uploaded it.

Last seen on 14:39, 3. Dec 2022
Joined Jul 2022
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Just got approved!
Tue, 11/01/2022 - 16:57

Just got approved!

Last seen on 05:24, 3. Dec 2022
Joined Jul 2021
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Hello, does this plugin work…
Tue, 11/01/2022 - 23:29

Hello, does this plugin work with the End dimension?

Last seen on 14:39, 3. Dec 2022
Joined Jul 2022
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
No.
Wed, 11/02/2022 - 04:55

No.

Last seen on 22:21, 14. Nov 2022
Joined Oct 2022
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
does this  work with custom…
Thu, 11/03/2022 - 22:14

does this  work with custom demensions

Last seen on 14:39, 3. Dec 2022
Joined Jul 2022
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
No idea.
Fri, 11/04/2022 - 14:54

No idea.

Last seen on 00:31, 18. Nov 2022
Joined Feb 2016
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
How do I go about creating…
Mon, 11/14/2022 - 19:15

How do I go about creating new biomes using this plugin??

Last seen on 14:39, 3. Dec 2022
Joined Jul 2022
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
You use the first procedure…
Mon, 11/14/2022 - 20:14

You use the first procedure. It uses the settings of your biome + properties from the selected biome so you can make biomes that aren't mountains when you want plains.

Last seen on 00:31, 18. Nov 2022
Joined Feb 2016
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Every time I try the first…
Mon, 11/14/2022 - 21:30

Every time I try the first procedure the whole procedure doesn't get compiled properly

Last seen on 14:39, 3. Dec 2022
Joined Jul 2022
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
biomes require a registry…
Tue, 11/15/2022 - 10:25

biomes require a registry name + you need both region procedures. (A registry name can be seen when naming an element. Example, TestBiome is Test_biome) and some biomes in the datalist are invalid, so check which causes the issue.

Last seen on 23:58, 2. Dec 2022
Joined May 2022
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
I Have a plugin suggestion i…
Wed, 11/16/2022 - 22:39

I Have a plugin suggestion i always wanted can you make it where you can make particles like this possible? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kYDTpKr0l4Y  it will put a higher quality to mods!

Last seen on 23:58, 2. Dec 2022
Joined May 2022
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
And better ai?
Wed, 11/16/2022 - 22:39

And better ai?

Last seen on 23:58, 2. Dec 2022
Joined May 2022
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
My apologies for sounding…
Sun, 11/20/2022 - 01:04

My apologies for sounding rude on this! i really think that it would add to mcreator!!

Last seen on 03:11, 29. Nov 2022
Joined Dec 2017
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Is there any specific way…
Mon, 11/21/2022 - 02:15

Is there any specific way you need to name your biome in the procedure to get it to properly work?
What I mean is the format that needs to be used while setting up a biome. I've done everything that is said in this tutorial, but once I add a biome, I get build errors.


my_biome
My Biome
MyBiome