Keep certain items upon death

Started by Ayreseraph on

Topic category: Help with modding (Java Edition)

Last seen on 21:23, 29. Mar 2024
Joined Mar 2024
User statistics:

• Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Keep certain items upon death

So, I want to make some special items given to the players when they step on a pressure plate in the beginning of the game. They’ll keep these items throughout their time playing and can’t remove them from their inventory.

Of course because of this I also don’t want them to drop these items when they die either. 

I’m quite new to using MCreator, so terms like variable, and NBT are very new to me. So any step by step explanations are very appreciated.

Thanks - Ayres

P.S. depending on which pressure plate they step on, they’ll get a different assortment of items. Like a warrior with his spear, and a mage with his staff (example)

Last seen on 02:33, 27. Apr 2024
Joined May 2022
User statistics:

• Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
There's a couple ways you…
Mon, 04/08/2024 - 11:13

There's a couple ways you could do this, sort of depends on what you're going for, and if you want the player to get more items like this later on! I did something kind of similar for a smithing mod. All of these will require you to use variables, which you can access in the left-hand tab of your workspace. Variables let you store information permanently, and can be altered using procedures- you want to make sure all your variables are player-based, not global. (Global variables are for the entire world, player variables are specifically tracked for each player.)