SOLVED

Started by Stardust Sucker on Sat, 10/01/2016 - 19:36

Topic category: Help with MCreator's application

Last seen on 20:51, 14. Oct 2018
Joined May 2016
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
SOLVED
Sun, 10/02/2016 - 22:40 (edited)

Now ive been having alot of trouble with attmepting to make a mob, and nothing has been helping

so basically, before I go in depth about my problem, heres the criteria for my mob

- Its type of mob, are monster, and mob

- It does 5 Damage

- for the code for when you mob attacks, I have it so it gives the player poison 3 for 20 seconds

-Its AI is spider

-it doesnt spawn in a specific biome

-it has no custom AI

-Its model is spider

So yeah, basically, when I load up my mod test enviroment, I can constantly batter the mob, and it does nothing at all, and I'm super desperate at this point, and Ive had unbearable trouble with making mobs, so please, im open to any help

Edited by Stardust Sucker on Sun, 10/02/2016 - 22:40
Last seen on 20:51, 14. Oct 2018
Joined May 2016
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
RE:The last page of this thread
Sat, 10/01/2016 - 21:10

@#1 Im just going to assume youre talking about "OK, so i was thinking of adding a new tamable creature. I was wondering if i could make such a thing. Also for mob settings there is an "Ambient" and i don't know what will happen if i use it instead of Monster or any other type of creature.", as all of the other questions seem to be irrelevant, and it is not my problem.

I dont want my mob to be tamable, and the ambient thing isnt my problem.

Last seen on 05:14, 22. Jul 2019
Joined Aug 2015
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
RE:RE:The last page of this thread
Sat, 10/01/2016 - 21:19

@#1.1 No, its the problem/solution at the bottom of the last page. Sorry, I guess I should have elaborated.

 

From what I understand, you still need to add two events to your mob.

Last seen on 20:51, 14. Oct 2018
Joined May 2016
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
RE:RE:RE:The last page of this thread
Sat, 10/01/2016 - 22:11

@#1.1.1 I added both of those tasks to my mob, with maximum priority, and It did nothing

Last seen on 05:14, 22. Jul 2019
Joined Aug 2015
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
Alright, I had to replicate
Sun, 10/02/2016 - 00:39

Alright, I had to replicate you mod, but I figured it out.

In the AI screen, you can't have "has AI" and "AI based on" at the same time. If you want your mod to act exactly as a spider, then SKIP the "has AI" button and just select an AI from the drop down menu.

If you have "has ai" selected then you have to give it the following tasks:

wander - or else it will not move at all

act aggresively against [player] - or else it will not attack the player specifically

attack on colide - or else it will not attack period

 

That said, I was able to get my spider working fine with two potion effects.

 

Last seen on 20:51, 14. Oct 2018
Joined May 2016
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
RE:Alright, I had to replicate
Sun, 10/02/2016 - 02:48

@#2 Thanks so much! It works fine! however, the only thing that doesnt work are my potion effects, and it doesnt drop its item

Last seen on 05:14, 22. Jul 2019
Joined Aug 2015
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
No problem broticules. 
Sun, 10/02/2016 - 03:59

No problem broticules. 

As for the potion effect, make sure in your "attack player" event for your potion effect has a duration set, you might have to play with that number because its in ticks or something of the nature. 

I think the drop has a percentage chance you have to set, otherwise you can add an even for "drop item" triggered by the mobs death.

 

Just let me know if there is anything else I can do! As for your main problem, you should edit your main post title to :solved ;)

Last seen on 20:51, 14. Oct 2018
Joined May 2016
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
drop item isnt an option on
Sun, 10/02/2016 - 20:26

drop item isnt an option on the event tab though, and also, I have poison set to level 2 for 400 duration, still doesnt work

 

 

but seriously, thank you so much for actually helping me!

Last seen on 05:14, 22. Jul 2019
Joined Aug 2015
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
Its no problem really, I know
Sun, 10/02/2016 - 21:35

Its no problem really, I know how tough this program can be to get the hang of because its not very well explained in the GUI and most of the wiki links are broken :P Most "errors" and "bugs" are actually just strange settings and configurations conflicting with each other. You get the hang of it after a while after you troubleshoot enough of them.

Now, as far as the item drop event, Its an event selection, for example:

In your events, under "when killed" select the "spawn gem" event, and select your item. Minecraft refers to those little floating items as gems. 

When you get attacked by your spooky scurry spider does your survival inventory indicate any potion effect at all? Set your potion to level one for 2000 duration, just for the lols. See if it has any change in your survival inventory screen.

 

Last seen on 20:51, 14. Oct 2018
Joined May 2016
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
Thanks so much! I never
Sun, 10/02/2016 - 22:35

Thanks so much! I never actually understood the spawn gem, intill youve explained it to me!

and I sure will do the level one 2000 duration thing, ill reply back later