How to get Mob Textures to show up Serverside?

Started by scribracer on Tue, 10/04/2016 - 17:38

Topic category: Help with MCreator modding

Last seen on 18:04, 25. Apr 2017
Joined Sep 2016
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
How to get Mob Textures to show up Serverside?
Tue, 10/04/2016 - 17:38

So I'm having a bit of an issue here, I'm not particularly sure why it is working out this way.

I'm doing a bit of a test run with a mod I'm making, it works beautifully on singleplayer, having tested it on multiple computers... but for some reason or another, the mob textures don't show up in a test server I've made.

Now I thought perhaps it was spongeforge's fault, so I tried without that, but they still didn't show up. The mobs make noises when they are spawned in, and they can die, they're just invisible. The custom biomes, food, etc all work, though.

Is there a different way to export the mod to be a server side mod that I'm missing? I don't get any error messages in the console, they're just not there.

Last seen on 18:04, 25. Apr 2017
Joined Sep 2016
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
I can confirm it isn't
Tue, 10/04/2016 - 22:01

I can confirm it isn't SpongeForge causing the issue as I just tried a clean server install using just Forge and the mobs still are without textures- ONLY serverside. The only real thing of note is the modid 1.11 enforcing error, but I can take care of that later.

Last seen on 18:04, 25. Apr 2017
Joined Sep 2016
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
I've attempted to make a
Sat, 10/08/2016 - 00:02

I've attempted to make a smaller mod with just a mob as the sole element, however unfortuantely it seems that I'm having the same issue. It's strange, I'm using Techne for the model and I'm using photoshop for the texture. It works in singleplayer, but doesn't work in the test multiplayer hamachi server I set up. And, yes, I do have the mod in the proper folder in the server files, unfortuantely! I imagine my solution would be a lot easier if that weren't the case.

Last seen on 05:14, 22. Jul 2019
Joined Aug 2015
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
Are your textures square
Sat, 10/08/2016 - 00:55

Are your textures square multiples of 16? And just a heads up, mCreator does not play well with Techne anymore, despite the supposed partial support. That said, multiplayer support for any mCreator mod is still a crap-shoot at best half the time and you'd be better off just using Eclipse and a Java developers enviroment. The amount of coding and Java you'd have to learn probably pales in comparison to what you'd have to learn on the fly for fixing what mCreator just isnt the best at doing yet (since mCreator uses its own wonky style of Java)

Last seen on 18:04, 25. Apr 2017
Joined Sep 2016
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
Oh boy, that's not great to
Sat, 10/08/2016 - 01:08

Oh boy, that's not great to hear. And yes! They are all multiples of 16. And oh man, alright, I'll look into it, I should have tested it in multiplayer sooner before I got this far into Mcreator though. Thank you!

Last seen on 05:14, 22. Jul 2019
Joined Aug 2015
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
With mCreator the trial and
Sat, 10/08/2016 - 02:53

With mCreator the trial and error is half the learning experience ;P