How to make a block emit a redstone signal?

Started by FlowGD on Sun, 01/27/2019 - 22:03

Topic category: Help with MCreator software

Last seen on 08:30, 1. Oct 2020
Joined Sep 2016
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
How to make a block emit a redstone signal?
Sun, 01/27/2019 - 22:03

I just want a block to emit a redstone signal the same way a redstone block does. I have tried using the "Set redstone power

Last seen on 08:30, 1. Oct 2020
Joined Sep 2016
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Sorry, accidentally clicked…
Sun, 01/27/2019 - 22:03

Sorry, accidentally clicked post. I have tried using the "Set redstone power logic state to true" in the Update Tick field, but this has some really odd behavior where it only powers through blocks and sometimes not.

Redstone power works the way…
Mon, 01/28/2019 - 13:24

Redstone power works the way that only all or none blocks are powered. We will improve this in the future. You can open a support ticket for this on our issue tracker.

Last seen on 10:43, 24. Oct 2020
Joined Dec 2019
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
I'm trying to find that part…
Mon, 04/06/2020 - 06:16

I'm trying to find that part of procedures. Where is it?

Last seen on 07:16, 22. Nov 2020
Joined Jun 2019
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
vinsplayer, in MCreator 2020…
Tue, 07/21/2020 - 11:28

vinsplayer, in MCreator 2020.4 ))) (I'M Russian)

Last seen on 07:16, 22. Nov 2020
Joined Jun 2019
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Sorry, in 2020.5... or 2020…
Tue, 07/21/2020 - 11:44

Sorry, in 2020.5... or 2020.6...

Last seen on 04:00, 16. Sep 2020
Joined Aug 2020
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
hi FlowGD, I searched…
Thu, 08/06/2020 - 06:51

hi FlowGD, I searched everywhere and I also could not find. I know it's a bit late But, I found a way how to do it. (Im using mcreator 2020.4 but it will work on older versions too)

Here I will explain how I did it. For my example I made a NOT gate blocks. that means when it receives redstone signal, It not emits redstone signal. but if it not receives redstone signal, it emits redstone signal. actually it's pretty simple.

DIAGRAM AND EXAMPLE:

INPUT        OUTPUT

   0                    1

   1                    0

 

images:

turned off: 

turned on: 

(the block in the center with the red ! is the NOT gate block)

 

THE TUTORIAL:

note: this will work only if you will put redstone repeaters and not redstone dust or other blocks next to your block. you saw in the image, the NOT gate block just turns on the repeater by changing its data power nbt from false to true. unfortunately, you cannot change redstone's power data.

 

step 1

first, I created a command called "signal" to check if there are repeaters around the block. If there is, so it will change them into powered repeaters. we don't need to worry about a turn off command because the repeaters will turn off automatically, because they will tick-update. that's why we will run this command (if needed) in the tick update trigger procedure.

the command will check for every side around, north, west, south and east. 

this is the command procedure: 

sorry about that you cant see the whole command in the execute command blocks, so I wrote them here:

1st if: setblock ~ ~ ~ minecraft:repeater[powered=true,facing=west]

2nd if: setblock ~ ~ ~ minecraft:repeater[powered=true,facing=east]

3rd if: setblock ~ ~ ~ minecraft:repeater[powered=true,facing=north]

4th if: setblock ~ ~ ~ minecraft:repeater[powered=true,facing=south]

we changed the rotation for every if because repeaters work only in one side.

here, you're done but I also wrote an example how to use it,

 

step 2

Then I created two blocks. one is NOT gate block, and the second one is powered NOT gate. these blocks are the same, but they have different triggers.

in the first block, NOT gate, we use two triggers. Update tick, (remember It's a NOT gate so we run /signal in the unpowered block.) and Redstone on. in update thick we run /signal and in redstone on we switch the block to the second block, powered NOT gate. this block uses only one trigger, redstone off. we don't need update tick /signal because again, it's a NOT gate. the redstone off trigger procedure will switch the block back to the first block, NOT gate. (not the powered one)

NOT gate block: 

|redstone on: 

|update tick: 

powered NOT gate block: 

|redstone off: 

we're done. hope It worked and I hope you understood my english. If something goes wrong or you did not understand, tell me.

Last seen on 04:00, 16. Sep 2020
Joined Aug 2020
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
hi FlowGD, I searched…
Thu, 08/06/2020 - 06:59

hi FlowGD, I searched everywhere and I also could not find. I know it's a bit late But, I found a way how to do it. (Im using mcreator 2020.4 but it will work on older versions too)

Here I will explain how I did it. For my example I made a NOT gate blocks. that means when it receives redstone signal, It not emits redstone signal. but if it not receives redstone signal, it emits redstone signal. actually it's pretty simple.

DIAGRAM AND EXAMPLE:

INPUT        OUTPUT

   0                    1

   1                    0

 

images:

turned off: 

turned on: 

(the block in the center with the red ! is the NOT gate block)

 

THE TUTORIAL:

note: this will work only if you will put redstone repeaters and not redstone dust or other blocks next to your block. you saw in the image, the NOT gate block just turns on the repeater by changing its data power nbt from false to true. unfortunately, you cannot change redstone's power data.

 

step 1

first, I created a command called "signal" to check if there are repeaters around the block. If there is, so it will change them into powered repeaters. we don't need to worry about a turn off command because the repeaters will turn off automatically, because they will tick-update. that's why we will run this command (if needed) in the tick update trigger procedure.

the command will check for every side around, north, west, south and east. 

this is the command procedure: 

sorry about that you cant see the whole command in the execute command blocks, so I wrote them here:

1st if: setblock ~ ~ ~ minecraft:repeater[powered=true,facing=west]

2nd if: setblock ~ ~ ~ minecraft:repeater[powered=true,facing=east]

3rd if: setblock ~ ~ ~ minecraft:repeater[powered=true,facing=north]

4th if: setblock ~ ~ ~ minecraft:repeater[powered=true,facing=south]

we changed the rotation for every if because repeaters work only in one side.

here, you're done but I also wrote an example how to use it,

 

step 2

Then I created two blocks. one is NOT gate block, and the second one is powered NOT gate. these blocks are the same, but they have different triggers.

in the first block, NOT gate, we use two triggers. Update tick, (remember It's a NOT gate so we run /signal in the unpowered block.) and Redstone on. in update thick we run /signal and in redstone on we switch the block to the second block, powered NOT gate. this block uses only one trigger, redstone off. we don't need update tick /signal because again, it's a NOT gate. the redstone off trigger procedure will switch the block back to the first block, NOT gate. (not the powered one)

NOT gate block: 

|redstone on: 

|update tick: 

powered NOT gate block: 

|redstone off: 

we're done. hope It worked and I hope you understood my english. If something goes wrong or you did not understand, tell me.

Last seen on 13:00, 24. Nov 2020
Joined Jan 2020
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
What did i have to do (sry…
Fri, 08/28/2020 - 09:52

What did i have to do (sry for my englsich) when i wouldnt use a reapeter but a redstone wire so i have to write setblock ~ ~ ~ minecraft:redstone[powered=true] ?

Last seen on 04:00, 16. Sep 2020
Joined Aug 2020
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
you can't do it, (maybe you…
Sun, 08/30/2020 - 14:48

you can't do it, (maybe you can I don't know how) because redstone wire does not have nbt tag calles powered, instead it's uses power. power is a nbt tag that it's value is 0 to 15, and it's getting tick updated. repeaters are not getting tick updated.