How do I use a model that isn't built into MCreator?

Started by AxelCatto on Fri, 09/20/2019 - 19:40

Topic category: Help with MCreator modding

Last seen on 19:58, 21. Sep 2019
Joined Jun 2019
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
How do I use a model that isn't built into MCreator?
Fri, 09/20/2019 - 19:40

I can't figure out how to put a wolf model into MCreator. I've tried downloading things but I still don't know how to actually put them into the program.

I also have issues with taming mobs. I selected the AI to be wolf, but it still won't let me tame it.

Please don't give me information about making models. There are a lot of people asking similar questions to mine and the only answers they have gotten are how to make a model.

Last seen on 07:05, 12. Oct 2019
Joined Jan 2017
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
In order to do this you…
Fri, 09/20/2019 - 20:12

In order to do this you would need the model (aka .java) file, these arent really provided by anyone, so my recommendation is downloading the mod Tabula, and running it, it contains all of minecraft's entitys, so you can just load from minecraft then export it as a java file, then texture it based off minecraft's vanilla textures for the wolf mob, as the models will be exactly the same.

Last seen on 19:58, 21. Sep 2019
Joined Jun 2019
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
Right, but if I downloaded…
Fri, 09/20/2019 - 21:07

Right, but if I downloaded this then how would I access it through MCreator?

Last seen on 07:05, 12. Oct 2019
Joined Jan 2017
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
You would go into MC after…
Fri, 09/20/2019 - 21:22

You would go into MC after installing the mod, load up the Wolf model, and export it as a Java file, then you would go to "Resources" in your workspace click "3D models and texture mapping" and click "Import JAVA model..." once imported, you can go to a mob and select this model Which would just be a wolf, as the model you are using, just like you would Biped or creeper or stuff like that.

I suggest you check our…
Sat, 09/21/2019 - 12:59

I suggest you check our tutorials collection playlist on our YouTube channel which contains many examples and tutorials that can help you get started with MCreator: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLAeL-oIFIEngE6jRgFYeFMfuj8WQsO3Ei

Last seen on 19:58, 21. Sep 2019
Joined Jun 2019
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
I added the model but…
Sat, 09/21/2019 - 19:58

I added the model but whenever I test it then the mob is just invisible (the particles on it are visible though). It looks like on my computer I have two .java files that are called ModelWolf, but when opened they have different code. I can't test the other file though because the program doesn't want two ModelWolfs, and I don't know how to change that bit of the code.

Last seen on 04:23, 15. Oct 2019
Joined Nov 2018
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
then remove the old…
Sat, 09/21/2019 - 20:52

then remove the old modelwolf.

 

Last seen on 07:05, 12. Oct 2019
Joined Jan 2017
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
Delete them both, and add…
Sun, 09/22/2019 - 01:46

Delete them both, and add the one you want