2D tile for 3D item

Started by Sir_sassypants on Tue, 05/12/2020 - 22:12

Topic category: Help with modding (Java Edition)

Last seen on 22:09, 6. Mar 2021
Joined Sep 2019
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
2D tile for 3D item
Tue, 05/12/2020 - 22:12

I have made a item with a 3D model, and when rendered in the inventory it appears as the flat version of itself, causing it to break the bounds if it's slot

The item breaking out of it's tile

I would like to make it look like a 16x16 texture in the inventory, while still maintaining the handheld 3D model. I've tried messing around with the model file, but that didn't work. Anyone got any ideas or answers? If it requires coding that is ok.

Last seen on 22:41, 29. Dec 2021
Joined Mar 2020
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
If you used Blockbench you…
Wed, 05/13/2020 - 12:06

If you used Blockbench you can use the “display” feature to change how it looks in game, no coding required.

Last seen on 22:09, 6. Mar 2021
Joined Sep 2019
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
It took me a bit to find it,…
Wed, 05/13/2020 - 21:49

It took me a bit to find it, but it worked! Thank you so much

Last seen on 15:42, 29. Jan 2021
Joined Jan 2021
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Could you please tell me how…
Mon, 01/25/2021 - 19:50

Could you please tell me how you did that? I can't find out how to do it.

Last seen on 08:41, 4. Apr 2021
Joined Mar 2017
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
i want to know too please
Sun, 04/04/2021 - 08:24

i want to know too please

Last seen on 19:30, 30. Jan 2023
Joined Aug 2021
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Yeah, i also wanna know
Mon, 08/30/2021 - 19:18

Yeah, i also wanna know

Last seen on 23:12, 30. Jan 2023
Joined May 2019
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
ok I have sort of the same…
Tue, 11/22/2022 - 21:45

ok I have sort of the same issue, but on Blockbench I can only edit the 3d model for the GUI display option, but I want to show a 2d texture I made, how can I do that?

Last seen on 03:11, 29. Nov 2022
Joined Dec 2017
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
(For anyone who is curious…
Sat, 11/26/2022 - 21:35

(For anyone who is curious on how to fix this issue.)

Because of the way Minecraft works, the GUI will display the 3D model over the 2D texture you choose. So if you want your item to appear 2D in GUI's, you will have to set the item to be rotated by intervals of 90 degrees in the Display tab on Blockbench.

Make sure the item is scaled down to fit into the GUI slot. (I usually use 0.5, 0.5, 0.5 on blockbench to scale it to fit, all depends on preferences of appearance.)

 

Let me explain why this happens:

All of Minecrafts 3D items (to my knowledge) are blocks where Items are 2D by nature, so when you add an item with a 3D model, Minecraft will display it as if it were a block rather than an item and thus it will look for a 3D display rather than the 2D display you gave it.

 

(So make use of blockbenches display options before you export your .json file in order to position the item in the GUI to APPEAR 2D.)

Last seen on 16:37, 4. Feb 2023
Joined Jan 2022
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
The thing is, my model looks…
Tue, 01/31/2023 - 15:19

The thing is, my model looks different from my 2D sprite that I've created. I even built the 2D sprite out of cubes and textured it in Blockbench in the hopes that I could make it invisible for third person sprites and visible for the GUI. Is there really no way to make a different 2D GUI sprite for a model that's 3D when held? I am willing to attempt some coding if anyone has a solution.