Please help. (custom portal blocks - read description)

Started by Fredzik on Tue, 05/26/2020 - 18:17

Topic category: Help with MCreator software

Last seen on 11:43, 5. Aug 2021
Joined Jun 2018
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Please help. (custom portal blocks - read description)
Tue, 05/26/2020 - 18:17

Hi!

I made a custom portal block that teleports me to a custom dimension. As I seen and know the block does not spawn after entering the dimension and there's no way back. So I decided to make a structure with portal spawn when I enter it. But there's a problem... If I enter this dimension more times the structure will spawn again. I was trhinking about making it spawn depending on advancements (if I made this advancement before the structure won't spawn anymore). But now it's multiplayer problem - players that haven't completed specific advancement will still cause structure to spawn. Please help me, how can I make a structure spawn only when dimension is discovered/entered for the first time. I hope I will get help from you.

 

Fredzik

Last seen on 21:18, 4. Aug 2021
Joined Mar 2020
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Did you use the pre-made…
Tue, 05/26/2020 - 19:20

Did you use the pre-made block or a custom one? This doesn’t happen if you use the pre-made one.

Last seen on 11:43, 5. Aug 2021
Joined Jun 2018
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
A custom block. It's a…
Tue, 05/26/2020 - 19:32

A custom block. It's a teleporter to the dimension.

Last seen on 21:18, 4. Aug 2021
Joined Mar 2020
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Just use the pre-made one.
Tue, 05/26/2020 - 19:35

Just use the pre-made one.

Last seen on 11:43, 5. Aug 2021
Joined Jun 2018
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
What do you mean exactly?…
Tue, 05/26/2020 - 19:53

What do you mean exactly? Sorry I don't understand.

Last seen on 21:18, 4. Aug 2021
Joined Mar 2020
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
When you create a dimension…
Tue, 05/26/2020 - 20:10

When you create a dimension it pre-creates a portal for you. It is on the second page.

Last seen on 11:43, 5. Aug 2021
Joined Jun 2018
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
I haven't made a regular…
Tue, 05/26/2020 - 20:13

I haven't made a regular portal. I made a block that will teleport the player to the dimension on right click

Last seen on 21:18, 4. Aug 2021
Joined Mar 2020
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Oh. Then maybe have an item…
Tue, 05/26/2020 - 20:25

Oh. Then maybe have an item that teleports you back to the overworld on right click and it is given to you when you enter the dimension.

Last seen on 11:43, 5. Aug 2021
Joined Jun 2018
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
I was thinking about it…
Tue, 05/26/2020 - 20:37

I was thinking about it. Great idea but I want an actual portal :/ Maybe Klemen will help us.

Last seen on 22:09, 6. Mar 2021
Joined Sep 2019
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Make a global variable, that…
Tue, 05/26/2020 - 21:40

Make a global variable, that is set to false until you activate the portal. When you tp into the dimention, generate your structure AND THEN CHANGE IT. make sure it's not the other way round or it will not generate. This way, the structure will only generate when it is set to false. When it is created it will no longer be able to because the variable is true.

I haven't tried this myself but in theory it should work

Last seen on 11:43, 5. Aug 2021
Joined Jun 2018
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Thanks! I will try it.
Tue, 05/26/2020 - 22:38

Thanks! I will try it.

Last seen on 11:43, 5. Aug 2021
Joined Jun 2018
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
I made a logic variable,…
Wed, 05/27/2020 - 08:18

I made a logic variable, default "false". And then I've done what you said. In procedure "when player enters dimension" I added "place at x y z structure:<my structure>" and "set global variable:<my variable> to: true". But the structure spawned again...

Last seen on 20:11, 8. Aug 2020
Joined Apr 2020
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Try an 'if' block. If the…
Wed, 05/27/2020 - 09:06

Try an 'if' block.

If the variable is true, do nothing. If the variable is false, first spawn the structure and then set the variable to false.

Last seen on 11:43, 5. Aug 2021
Joined Jun 2018
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Ok, I'll try it too.
Wed, 05/27/2020 - 09:28

Ok, I'll try it too.

Last seen on 11:43, 5. Aug 2021
Joined Jun 2018
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Thx that worked :) Structure…
Wed, 05/27/2020 - 10:12

Thx that worked :) Structure is not spawning more times. But now it's a common problem of custom portals - spawning underground. I also need help with right spawn place. I tried moving player to y+75 or something, but ground is not flat and i sometimes spawn in air...