Locating Specifically Rare Custom Ores

Started by Squishybrick on Wed, 07/21/2021 - 04:10

Topic category: Help with MCreator software

Last seen on 04:43, 26. Aug 2021
Joined Sep 2019
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Locating Specifically Rare Custom Ores
Wed, 07/21/2021 - 04:10

My mod has various different ores that I've added to it, many of varying rarity.. Most of which I eventually find while mining..

But any ore I make that is specifically more rare than diamond, I have never found.

I'm not saying it never generates, but alas, I don't know how to prove or disprove that..

Is there a dev console command, or some specific command I can use to help tell me if the ores are even generating, and if so, where?

Here is the generation settings of the ore in question I can't seem to locate.

Ore 1:
Average amount of ore groups per chunk: 1
Average number of ores in a group: 4
Minimal generation height: 1
Maximal generation height: 64

I have mined an entire (16x16x16) chunk within the correct generation height, but did not find a single ore.. I "haven't" yet mined an entire chunk like how they used
to generate, where the chunks height was effectively infinite. The current version has the 16x16x16 chunks, so I dunno if mcreator itself might be generating ores within
chunks the old way, or if it's just not generating the ores at all..

I hypothesize that below a certain generation size, maybe mcreator just isn't bothering with generating them at all? Or, perhaps the generation settings don't actually imply
that its generating a vein EVERY chunk, but instead every other chunk?.. Or maybe a completely different way?

For pretty much any other ore generating, this isn't a problem, and finding the ores is simple.. But when making specifically very rare ores, there should be a way for devs to find their ores easily, to let them get a feel for how sparce they are within the area.

Last seen on 13:15, 9. Sep 2021
Joined May 2021
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Make the ore far less rare…
Wed, 07/21/2021 - 08:01

Make the ore far less rare for testing and then start scaling it back till its rare enough.

Last seen on 04:43, 26. Aug 2021
Joined Sep 2019
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Even if I did that, I still…
Wed, 07/21/2021 - 08:35

Even if I did that, I still run into the problem of that process in itself taking MANY hours of mining around to check for natural rarity of ores.. There has to be some easier way of checking the rarity of an ore besides just randomly mining for it.

The best way I can theorize right now, is making a special dev wand that causes an explosion that destroys everything in a massive radius, and then specifically giving the ores infinite blast resistance, so that I can clear out multiple chunks of land, potentially exposing the ore..

But I still feel like there should be an easier way.. If it's not actually adding veins per chunk as the generation setting itself says, how "is" it generating the ore, and, would a low enough value bug it out to make it not generate the ore at all?

Last seen on 13:15, 9. Sep 2021
Joined May 2021
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
  This is how I test mine. 1…
Wed, 07/21/2021 - 08:55

 

This is how I test mine.

1, Make Biome

2, Click on Biome and go to features

3, At the bottom you will see biome default features

4, Add 10 caves or more.

5, Testing biome and you will be able to see ores by flying over deep ravines.

6, You must have stone as your main filler block in the Dimension you make to test your ore via the biome you add to the Dimension.

Or just download xray but I have never used that.

 

Chew

Last seen on 04:43, 26. Aug 2021
Joined Sep 2019
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Hey, you might be on to…
Wed, 07/21/2021 - 20:09

Hey, you might be on to something, there..

I think I just thought of the ultimate way to check for generation of ore..

1. Make an "Ore dimension"
2. In the dimension, where stone would normally be, use a completely transparent-textured block.
3. Set up the ore in question to only spawn in said dimension, and replace said block
4. Load up a new world in that dimension, and the ore should be floating around!

Any ore you'd want to additionally test, you could just modify to spawn in that dimension and replace that block, without it interfering with anything else in your mod, allowing you to see any and all custom ores that spawn in your world!

Thanks for inspiring the idea, chew. I'm gonna go try this out.

Last seen on 04:43, 26. Aug 2021
Joined Sep 2019
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Apon trying out said method,…
Wed, 07/21/2021 - 23:44

Apon trying out said method, I 'have' found out a few things.

1. You can't just replace a dimension's stone with "air" and make ores replace the air.. That doesn't work, the ores will just
spawn at the very bottom, and sparsely.

2. Do NOT set "minimal generation height" below 5.. The first 5 blocks in any normal world are bedrock, and doing so messes up generation. (At least with exceptionally rare ores)

3. Using a completely transparent, non-solid block "is" a little resource intensive, so if you make an "ore dimension" of your own to explore, make sure you set your render distance down to like 5 and difficulty to peaceful, to reduce lag.

4. Do NOT set the "Average number of ores in a group" lower than 3.. If it is set lower than 3, they will never generate.. Ever.. I suspect because this number makes the engine calculate an RNG value based on it.. Where 3 would be between 1-3.. But 2 might be 0-2, and there being a zero in the RNG code may be causing it to bug out and just not generating anything. There should be a posted warning in the program to warn about this to new users.

Last seen on 13:15, 9. Sep 2021
Joined May 2021
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
You never gave up and you…
Fri, 07/23/2021 - 08:36

You never gave up and you kept tinkering! That is what this is all about. Glad I could inspire you and help. 

 

 3, Yea, has to be solid. I just tested that. Also may help by making the bounding box 0,0,0.

 

 Your response gave me a GREAT idea! I think you may have helped me solve a problem I been having. BIG THANKS! If you want to team up on discord some night let me know. I been messing around with java for a very long time.

 

Chew

 

 

 

 

Last seen on 04:43, 26. Aug 2021
Joined Sep 2019
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
It only has to be solid by a…
Tue, 08/24/2021 - 21:55

It only has to be solid by a certain parameter.. There's a checkbox to trigger an effect that lets you pass through the block as if it were non-solid (To simulate blocks like grass or tripwire), and checking that box works.

I've made multiple worlds where, in that dimension where that block spawned to replace stone, I could literally just fly around and see all the floating ores to my heart's content.

There really should be a special little guide set aside for newcomers or veterans alike on how to make "ore dimensions", so that anyone can check to accurately see the generation of any custom ores they make, it's extremely helpful.