Interested in feedback and best-practices advice as I begin working on my first mod ♥

Started by Lofty on

Topic category: Help with modding (Java Edition)

Last seen on 04:04, 3. Feb 2023
Joined Dec 2022
User statistics:

• Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Interested in feedback and best-practices advice as I begin working on my first mod ♥
Sun, 12/18/2022 - 09:52 (edited)

Hello friends,

I'm brand new to MCreator!
I've laid out a plan for my first mod project and want to ask about known best practices for each of the components of it.

My hope is that most or all of these things can be accomplished quickly and easily using MCreator.
I have a programming and game development background, but my knowledge of how Minecraft works under the hood is very limited.

For example, I know that tags exist and that NBT exists but do not understand how these pieces fit into the game engine or what I should be on the lookout for in terms of common pitfalls or rookie mistakes.

As I've been learning MCreator's UI, I've also been skimming through tutorials linked in places like the wiki, but if anyone has suggestions for specific tutorials that may be relevant to this project or explain the different parts of it in an intuitive way, I'd definitely appreciate the extra guidance.

Things that I think sound simple but might end up being complicated:

• Saving the contents of a Phantomail Bundle into a Phantomail Package
  • Input / Output sanitizing and filtering on the Phantomailbox
  • Delivering items to a Phantomailbox in an unloaded chunk
  • Interactions with hoppers / choosing which slots can be pulled from?
  • Converting the Phantomail Package item back to a regular bundle on use
  • Sleeping to quickly cycle the whole mail system
  • Determining whether or not a dimension has a day/night cycle (Blue Skies mod's Everbright and Everdawn come to mind)