Please help i accidentally converted my mod to 1.19.2 to try and fix a bug but now i cant use the workspace anymore

Started by Bojsoeson1 on

Topic category: Troubleshooting, bugs, and solutions

Last seen on 16:32, 27. Apr 2024
Joined Dec 2018
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Please help i accidentally converted my mod to 1.19.2 to try and fix a bug but now i cant use the workspace anymore

Every time i try to load the mod it refuses to let me convert it back to 1.20.1 or give me enough time and i put a lor of time into the mod and i'm scared to lose it

 

please help

Last seen on 18:36, 16. Jul 2024
Joined May 2022
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
How did you backdate it? In…
Wed, 10/18/2023 - 22:21

How did you backdate it? In most cases, whenever you make a major change to the workspace, (like changing it to a different version), MCreator automatically makes a full backup of the workspace.

If you open the workspace folder, (either through the launcher, or by looking for 'MCreator Workspaces' in your computer's user file, you should see all your workspaces. Find the one for your mod, and inside there should be a bunch more files, including the workspace itself, the src (source code) file, the elements (MCreator stuff) file, etc. The one you're looking for is just labelled 'mccreator,' and inside you should find zip files for every time the workspace was manually or automatically backed up.

These full-backup zip files should contain copies of the elements, src, etc. Extract the most recent zip file, then copy and paste the contents of the extracted file into the main workspace folder with all the other stuff. It should ask you if you want to replace matching files, and you should tell it to do so. This will overwrite all of the mod's source code and elements with those from the last backup. Then just make sure to open it in the correct version.

It's very important to make sure you keep a copy of the backups- speaking from experience losing a very large workspace to corruption, it's a good idea to keep additional backups somewhere else on your computer or a jump drive just to be safe. In most cases, however, simply loading a backup like this should work. Good luck!