How to link MCreator to a Minecraft installation?

Started by allanonmage on

Topic category: Help with MCreator software

Last seen on 20:50, 11. Feb 2024
Joined Jan 2024
User statistics:

• Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
How to link MCreator to a Minecraft installation?

I just got started with MCreator yesterday, though I am a dev in other languages.  I can't figure out where to tell MCreator where my Minecraft installation is, or how to set up a new one.  I use MultiMC and PolyMC for launchers.  When I got to Tools, Open Java Edition Install Directory, there's a popup that says it can't find it.  I have been unable to find a setting, forum post, or YouTube video that explains where to set that variable.  Instead the keyword "link" poisons the search results, giving me info about the Arduino/Raspberry Pi stuff.  While that sounds interesting, I'm still in square zero, and will check that out later.

There is no need to link…
Mon, 01/22/2024 - 17:26

There is no need to link that as MCreator installs own "dev" version of Minecraft during workspace setup

I suggest you check our tutorials collection playlist on our YouTube channel which contains many examples and tutorials that can help you get started with MCreator: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLAeL-oIFIEngE6jRgFYeFMfuj8WQsO3Ei

Last seen on 20:50, 11. Feb 2024
Joined Jan 2024
User statistics:

• Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
I found them on YouTube, but…
Sun, 02/11/2024 - 20:53

I found them on YouTube, but like I said, they skip the first 100 or so steps.  Would love to make use of their content, but I need to cross the void of the absolute basics of the software.  I'm a dev in other languages, but have no idea what's going on with this software.

And when I installed MCreator, it did not install minecraft for itself, so idk if that was an older version thing, or what.

The first few tutorials…