How Can I Remove Vanilla Content?

Started by Jnaejnae on Mon, 12/12/2016 - 02:26

Topic category: Help with modding (Java Edition)

Last seen on 04:24, 13. Apr 2020
Joined May 2013
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
How Can I Remove Vanilla Content?
Tue, 12/13/2016 - 08:55 (edited)

I was hoping to remove or edit some features from Vanilla minecraft. I think double tall grass is ugly and that horses are out of place. I know in the basic MCreator GUI there is no option for removing blocks or mobs, but maybe theres a work around using coding. Since I dont know any mods that do something like this, maybe its simply not possible at all, but I'd atleast like to know. I was thinking of maybe making a mod that makes Minecraft like alpha, but keeps features like creative mode and smooth lighting. If anyone knows how to do something like this I would appreciate the help. 

I guess for certain things I could do it in game with command blocks. Besides that, I think this knowledge could be useful in a couple ways, suppose I just want to change something about an existing mob, like making zombies able to infect the player or emerge from the ground. Any help would be appreciated. 

edit: I may have found a way, but I need help with adding my own world type into the game. A world type is a selection made at world creation like amplified or flatlands. Also seems the site accidently posted my latest post twice, sorry about that. 

Edited by Jnaejnae on Tue, 12/13/2016 - 08:55
Last seen on 10:51, 12. Mar 2017
Joined Sep 2016
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
I think you can't, since the
Mon, 12/12/2016 - 08:15

I think you can't, since the game automatically downloads missing content or will crash on startup (since it doesn't have all the files to run the game as it's supposed to do). You might be able to create a new file and override the generation of double tallgrass and spawning of vanilla horses. though.

Last seen on 10:51, 12. Mar 2017
Joined Sep 2016
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
I think the same thing again,
Mon, 12/12/2016 - 14:17

I think the same thing again, overriding the hungersystem and sprinting mechanics with your own custom code. Not sure which code to use though, maybe you could google it?

Last seen on 13:43, 30. Nov 2018
Joined Nov 2016
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
I think with removing vanilla
Mon, 12/12/2016 - 18:49

I think with removing vanilla features you should instead try to replace them either by using an execute command thing or using a command block to detect the thing you want to replace and set block as the thing you want instead? dunno if that will work with mod content? but you could replace with air? hope that makes sense lol

Last seen on 00:21, 11. Aug 2019
Joined Aug 2013
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
It depends how much do you
Tue, 12/13/2016 - 12:33

It depends how much do you want to change , if you want just remove some mobs or some few blocks , best way to go is making a Event Handler. There you disable spawning/generation , remove it from creative tab and with some more code you are actually remove it also from NEI. So the vanilla block/mob will be de facto removed. However it will be still accesible using some 3rd person software + minecraft commands (Well , you can change these too in event handler). For 100% real reomving you will need to make a coremod. This step will make your mod propably uncompatible.

Last seen on 00:21, 11. Aug 2019
Joined Aug 2013
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Ehm.. every mod except some
Tue, 12/13/2016 - 23:48

Ehm.. every mod except some client-only mods (that for example changes look of HUD , or adds minimap) is  incompatible to play with some other client/server that has not this mod.
And coremod is definetely not the way that you want to go. In case you do not need any compability with other mods just make a event handler that stops the things from spawning/generating , in preInit iterate through recipe list , remove the shovels and pickaxes recipes , hide from creative tabs,and create your pickaxe with vanilla texture and all functions that you want. There is not need to use ASM (coremods) in case you can use things that gave you Forge.

Last seen on 00:21, 11. Aug 2019
Joined Aug 2013
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
I have such inner feeling
Wed, 12/14/2016 - 06:34

I have such inner feeling that newest Mcreator has ability to make new classes, also the GUI overlay element is in fact event handler.

Last seen on 20:44, 28. Nov 2020
Joined Apr 2010
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
RE:I have such inner feeling
Wed, 12/14/2016 - 10:19

@#9 Yes, this is true. New MCreator supports creation of new packages and classes from code editor.

Last seen on 16:42, 31. Oct 2017
Joined Jul 2017
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
i want to replace a gui file.
Wed, 07/19/2017 - 22:26

i want to replace a gui file... exact same name just different values