Ways to Edit Collison Boxes

Started by senor-x on Wed, 08/16/2017 - 08:13

Topic category: Help with modding (Java Edition)

Last seen on 01:42, 20. Aug 2017
Joined Aug 2017
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Ways to Edit Collison Boxes
Wed, 08/16/2017 - 08:13

Hi - is this the only way to edit the collision box of a model?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vARfE9YIZDY&feature=youtu.be

 

Last seen on 12:58, 23. Sep 2019
Joined Aug 2014
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
For blocks, just use the
Wed, 08/16/2017 - 18:02

For blocks, just use the "collision box tab" in MCreator while creating it.

For entities use setSize()

Last seen on 01:42, 20. Aug 2017
Joined Aug 2017
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
where is the "collision box
Wed, 08/16/2017 - 22:10

where is the "collision box tab"?

Last seen on 12:58, 23. Sep 2019
Joined Aug 2014
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
RE:where is the "collision box
Thu, 08/17/2017 - 11:47

@#2 at the first page when creating a block, on the right, there are some values (0, 0, 0 and 1, 1, 1).

Those 1, 1, 1 means that the collision box of the block is as big as 1 minecraft block.

Play with those values to find the collision box you need 

Last seen on 01:42, 20. Aug 2017
Joined Aug 2017
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Thanks Kane.
Thu, 08/17/2017 - 14:19

Thanks Kane.

From what I can understand these values allow you to resize a single box/cube, which gets me part of the way. I'm trying to build a bridge block so could do with something more  'U' shaped, I'm thinking along the lines of the 'Mesh Collider' options in Unity.
 

Last seen on 12:58, 23. Sep 2019
Joined Aug 2014
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
RE:Thanks Kane.
Thu, 08/17/2017 - 17:25

@#3 for that you need quite advanced coding skills and I cannot help D:

Last seen on 01:42, 20. Aug 2017
Joined Aug 2017
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Thanks again Kane
Thu, 08/17/2017 - 18:24

Thanks again Kane

I'm more an artist so have been avoiding learning code for Minecraft mods, but it looks like I'll have to bite the bullet. No idea where to begin, so can anyone recommend any good websites to start off with?

Last seen on 12:58, 23. Sep 2019
Joined Aug 2014
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
RE:Thanks again Kane
Fri, 08/18/2017 - 11:45

@#4 I know a good site to learn java basics, but I have to get home to get the link D: (tomorrow I can send it to you), then I remember there were good tutorials on YouTube to learn first steps with minecraft coding

Last seen on 01:42, 20. Aug 2017
Joined Aug 2017
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Thanks Kane
Fri, 08/18/2017 - 12:01

Thanks Kane

I thought of a work-around for my Bridge Block this morning. I've built a simple slab block to walk on and four seperate Blocks for the rails, one facing North, South etc.. That way I can use the simple MCreator Box Collider for each.

Last seen on 19:56, 11. Aug 2019
Joined Aug 2017
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
RE:For blocks, just use the
Fri, 08/18/2017 - 15:31

@#1 How do you use SetSize()?

Is it SetSize(X,Y,Z)?