Possible bug with transparent models.

Started by NorthWestTrees… on Fri, 08/02/2019 - 07:02

Topic category: Bugs and solutions

Last seen on 05:05, 15. Sep 2019
Joined Nov 2018
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
  • wiki contributor
Possible bug with transparent models.
Fri, 08/02/2019 - 19:38 (edited)

This issue was resolved, I fixed it by changing the block setting from "translucent" to "cutout mipped"

I am not sure if its a model issue or a transparent bug in MCreator, it's kinda the reason why I am posting here and not in the issue tracker because I don't know if it's for sure a bug or just the model. regardless something is not working right with the 3rd person and 1st person display for the textures.

The model was made using Cubik Studio, I have never encountered this issue prior and I have used Cubik Studio in the past with 3d models however this is the first time I am using a transparent texture for glass.

I was working on updating the texture when I realized the 1st person view had faces of the block when its held missing from and you could see through the mesh.
I then went into 3rd person view and it was also happening in that viewpoint.

the placed block looks fine for the most part I did notice some ghost meshes when jumping, I looked in the model and everything is properly culled and disabled for the parts that are not being used so I am not sure what the textures would be on the actual block its self that is bugging out.

I figured I would ask here if anyone has any ideas if this is a model issue or if its happened with other modeling programs, if so I would love to know more so I can make a proper bug report if needed, I will try remaking the model tomorrow to see if it fixes the issue but its 12 am and I need some shuteye.

3rd person view

1st person view

Edited by NorthWestTrees Gaming on Fri, 08/02/2019 - 19:38
Last seen on 19:50, 16. Sep 2019
Joined Apr 2010
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
  • wiki contributor
  • moderator
  • developer
Try to play with different…
Fri, 08/02/2019 - 08:04

Try to play with different transparency types of block. Otherwise, it is Minecraft renderer bug as we just pass your JSON model directly to the Minecraft renderer, we just register the model to the block you make in the code.

Last seen on 20:38, 16. Sep 2019
Joined Apr 2014
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
  • wiki contributor
Change From Translucted to…
Fri, 08/02/2019 - 17:24

Change From Translucted to Cutout

 

Last seen on 05:05, 15. Sep 2019
Joined Nov 2018
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
  • wiki contributor
I had some time to test that…
Fri, 08/02/2019 - 19:36

I had some time to test that and it did work, I was just going to post an update actually, letting people know that it was translucent that was the issue. I tried a few other settings on Cubiks side and it was still happening then like how Wes said try cutout but I used Cutout Mipped and it seemed to have no issue after that.

@Klemen if you would like me to add this to the issue tracker let me know :)

Last seen on 19:50, 16. Sep 2019
Joined Apr 2010
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
  • wiki contributor
  • moderator
  • developer
I think there is no need to…
Sat, 08/03/2019 - 08:33

I think there is no need to as one just needs to select the proper transparency type it seems :)