Help with Dimension Biomes

Started by TheAbsentDarkness on Mon, 04/27/2020 - 23:13

Topic category: Help with modding (Java Edition)

Last seen on 00:33, 5. Aug 2021
Joined Aug 2017
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Help with Dimension Biomes
Mon, 04/27/2020 - 23:13

So, I'm trying to make a mod that adds everything from the 1.16 Snapshots into 1.12.2. I initially thought it was possible to add new biomes into the Nether, but found that it wasn't the case. So instead, I made a whole new dimension with Nether-like generation since I could add those biomes there.

However, upon adding my recreations of the new biomes (Warped Forest, Soul Sand Valley, Crimson Forest, and Basalt Delta) only the fog color would change, but the blocks and fungus wouldn't be present. I'll continue to experiment and try to get it to work, but if anyone has any tips, that'd be great!

Last seen on 23:22, 10. Jul 2021
Joined Jun 2019
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
this is how minecraft is…
Tue, 04/28/2020 - 01:13

this is how minecraft is intended to work, this is not possible.

Last seen on 06:55, 27. Apr 2021
Joined Dec 2017
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
You can make new blocks and…
Tue, 04/28/2020 - 01:48

You can make new blocks and set them as the blocks for the biomes, but it only goes so many layers down.. and if you use those biomes in the nether style dimension, the blocks will carry over and spawn there, but normal stone, dirt, gravel will spawn still..

I did this when testing stuff out for my mod.. So you can have custom blocks in the custom dimensions, in a nether style dimension using those biomes.

Last seen on 06:55, 27. Apr 2021
Joined Dec 2017
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
You would need to do a lot…
Tue, 04/28/2020 - 01:51

You would need to do a lot of work recreating each biome and the plants and stuff that spawn on them..  It would be doable just based on what I know how to do with what I have made and tried to make so far.. just a lot of work making it and testing it all out..

Last seen on 08:00, 29. Jul 2021
Joined Feb 2020
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Luckily, it's very likely…
Tue, 04/28/2020 - 10:24

Luckily, it's very likely that mcreator for 1.16x, when it eventually comes out, will add biome support to the nether, as 1.16 did that lol

Last seen on 23:22, 10. Jul 2021
Joined Jun 2019
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
yeah but that would take…
Tue, 04/28/2020 - 12:58

yeah but that would take ages lol