Joined Jul 2020
User statistics:

• Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Are these shadows on blocks from 3d json models normal

Hi, I'm new to modding Minecraft and have made a mix of standard blocks with MCreator and blocks based on 3d models (Blockbench via json files) in MCreator. I have a few questions that I'll spread across different posts to keep the issues separate.

This question is about shadows. When I first started creating blocks based on 3d models from Blockbench I noticed shadows that were very different to the game blocks. It was most noticeable on blocks that were smaller than a standard block. For example, I created some vertical slabs (full height/width, half depth) and the front face was almost black. I found that be reducing the bounding box to the size of the model, it largely fixed the problem.

But I still see some noticeable shadowing on some of my custom blocks. The two pics below are wall sections I created (standard blocks not walls, 3/4 deep or 12pixels deep not 16).

Shadows on custom blocks 1

Shadows on custom blocks 2

Is this normal and to be expected? I can live with it, but it seems to be different to the rendering/shadowing on the regular game blocks.

Last seen on 19:32, 20. Sep 2020
Joined Apr 2020
User statistics:

• Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
I think it is related to…
Fri, 08/28/2020 - 12:11

I think it is related to Ambient occlusion of the model in Blockbench

Try uncheck "Ambient occlusion" box in the creation of your model and maybe it will work

I didn't try it but I also have issues with shadows of the models

Please let me know if it works

Joined Apr 2020
User statistics:

• Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
I just tried and it works,…
Fri, 08/28/2020 - 12:22