Animated Geckolib Java entity crashing (medieval modpack)

Started by Smalish on

Topic category: Help with MCreator software

Last seen on 19:08, 3. Nov 2021
Joined Sep 2021
User statistics:

• Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Animated Geckolib Java entity crashing (medieval modpack)
Sun, 09/26/2021 - 16:13 (edited)

Hello, 

I'm new to modding and I decided to try my luck at making an animal mod for Minecraft 1.15.2 using MCreator, Blockbench and the Geckolib plugin on both of those.

I followed cautiously several Youtube tutorials and I understand how everything works on the surface. I also did everything that was mentioned in this very good GLib tutorial here and used the right versions of each applications, then watch some more videos.

So first thing first, I tried to work on my first animal, the red deer (a must have for anything medieval). I made the model, save the java file; made the texture, saved the png file; and then worked on a VERY simple walk animation, just to see if I can get it to work in the game, then saved it as a json file.

The problem is that, the entity doesn't spawn in the game despite going with a decently high spawning rate of 20 (more than most vanilla mobs), or the game crashes upon loading up the world (that I reset everytime).
Now, I also noticed that the pathway to the animation in the code always refer to a file simply called "red.deer", which does not exist in the folder, so I changed it manually and locked the code. 

The egg works though, I can make the deer spawn in the world, but it has no animations. I did try really hard to make it work though, but unsuccessfully, as you'll see in the pictures.

As you can see, my animation file has a different name. The same than on Blockbench, I tried to keep everything super tidy.

Here is the workspace.

Here is the bottom of the code, with the animation file manually modified.