User statistics:

• Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Software Reviews
Thu, 05/16/2024 - 05:18 (edited)

Here is where mod software (both for Java and Bedrock Edition) is reviewed. These reviews are intended to be honest (albeit sometimes error-prone) and specifically meant for beginners looking for better mod software. Anybody is welcomed to post a review.

Edited by Mr.C@3030 on Thu, 05/16/2024 - 05:18
Last seen on 15:39, 25. May 2024
Joined May 2024
User statistics:

• Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Ironically, the software…
Sun, 05/12/2024 - 16:49

Ironically, the software which I would particularly like to discuss is Mcreator (along with its website).

I am a beginner add-on maker, using Visual Studio Code and Blockbench. A friend of mine recommended Mcreator, and having always wanted to make Java Edition mods, I decided to give it a try. I can see why many people use it, and it is indeed full of many opportunities and makes mods easy. But, the "Best Minecraft Mod Maker Ever" disappointed me heavily. On a scale of 1 to 10, I give it a 3.

On Friday night, when I downloaded the exe. file and installed the program, everything seemed well. When I ran the program, I got a rather small start-up screen with a couple of options. Creating a new project, I got presented with a couple of options of Minecraft mod formats. I selected the "Neoforge" option, and I pressed the button to create the workspace. After a couple of minutes, the program gave me a notification telling me that the gradle project failed to load.

On Saturday morning, I decided to create a data pack, which was created successfully. But, the program was a bit obscure with what I was specifically not allowed to do (I specifically encountered confusion in the "dimensions" addition).