2D sprite with 3D model?

Started by GamingChief1170 on Thu, 07/21/2016 - 08:59

Topic category: Help with modding (Java Edition)

Last seen on 06:46, 19. Nov 2016
Joined May 2015
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
2D sprite with 3D model?
Thu, 07/21/2016 - 08:59

Does anyone know how to make an item have a 2D sprite in the inventory, but when held, it is a 3D sprite? I am trying to make 3D guns, but their inventory icon is really weird and you can't really tell what it is. I assume you'll need to go into the .json file as I have been tinkering there, but all my attemps end up with a purple and black box for both the inventory and hand. Help is much appreciated!

Last seen on 00:21, 11. Aug 2019
Joined Aug 2013
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
edit the .json file in
Thu, 07/21/2016 - 09:17

edit the .json file in MCreator\user\json\models\item

Last seen on 06:46, 19. Nov 2016
Joined May 2015
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Here is the .json file 
Thu, 07/21/2016 - 09:41

Here is the .json file 

{
    "parent": "TestEnvironmentMod:item/test_custom",
    "textures": {
        "0": "blocks/log_oak","1": "blocks/cauldron_inner","2": "blocks/gold_block"
    }
}

What should i change?

Last seen on 06:46, 19. Nov 2016
Joined May 2015
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
RE:edit the .json file in
Thu, 07/21/2016 - 09:42

@#1

Here is the .json file 

{
    "parent": "TestEnvironmentMod:item/test_custom",
    "textures": {
        "0": "blocks/log_oak","1": "blocks/cauldron_inner","2": "blocks/gold_block"
    }
}

What should i change?

Last seen on 00:21, 11. Aug 2019
Joined Aug 2013
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Change it to the:{    "parent
Thu, 07/21/2016 - 13:26

Change it to the:

{
    "parent": "builtin/generated",
    "textures": {
        "layer0": "items/TEXTURENAME"
    },
    "display": {
        "thirdperson": {
            "rotation": [ -90, 0, 0 ],
            "translation": [ 0, 1, -3 ],
            "scale": [ 0.55, 0.55, 0.55 ]
        },
        "firstperson": {
            "rotation": [ 0, -135, 25 ],
            "translation": [ 0, 4, 2 ],
            "scale": [ 1.7, 1.7, 1.7 ]
        }
    }
}

 

Last seen on 06:46, 19. Nov 2016
Joined May 2015
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
RE:Change it to the:{    "parent
Fri, 07/22/2016 - 07:23

@#3 I tried that, but it made the item huge when held and when dropped. It did make the inventory icon a 2D sprite, but when held it still is a 2D sprite

Last seen on 00:21, 11. Aug 2019
Joined Aug 2013
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
The size can be changed here 
Fri, 07/22/2016 - 08:34

The size can be changed here   "scale": [ 1.7, 1.7, 1.7 ]. Set it to 0.85

But to the main problem , you need part from one parent and part from second one.
Problem is getting the second one. I suggest you look for example on Flans mod

You propably need make custom Render class implamenting IItemRenderer 


Sadly I will be not here for one week now , so I can not help more.