Texture Not Showing (.JSON)

Started by AgentSwampy on Wed, 09/21/2016 - 14:32

Topic category: Help with MCreator software

Last seen on 11:24, 10. Nov 2016
Joined Sep 2016
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Texture Not Showing (.JSON)
Wed, 09/21/2016 - 14:32

Hey, so I am brand new to using MCreator and have no Java programming experience, so this would be my first ever modification that I'm creating inside of MCreator.

So right now I am importing the "oak_stairs" (.JSON) file as a custom model and I wanted to add a different texture to it, however once I added the new texture and opened Minecraft, the stairs are appearing in the inventory but only with the regular default texture for oak stairs and not my custom texture. Any ideas on how I could fix this?

Thanks for any input, appreciate it.

Last seen on 00:21, 11. Aug 2019
Joined Aug 2013
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
In case you took the exture
Wed, 09/21/2016 - 15:45

In case you took the exture from vanilla files , the file should have already set texture path in itself so you must set your path here.

Last seen on 11:24, 10. Nov 2016
Joined Sep 2016
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
RE:In case you took the exture
Wed, 09/21/2016 - 17:23

@#1 I made my texture in Photoshop and took the (.JSON) file from the Vanilla files, correct. Do I need to change the path in the 'code' section of the modification? Or is it somewhere else? Sorry I am new to this and find it hard to understand. Thanks for your help :)

Last seen on 00:21, 11. Aug 2019
Joined Aug 2013
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
it is directly in the .json
Wed, 09/21/2016 - 17:28

it is directly in the .json file that you took

Last seen on 11:24, 10. Nov 2016
Joined Sep 2016
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
RE:it is directly in the .json
Wed, 09/21/2016 - 17:31

@#2 Oh I see it! Thank you so much, appreciate it :D

Last seen on 11:24, 10. Nov 2016
Joined Sep 2016
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
RE:it is directly in the .json
Wed, 09/21/2016 - 17:37

@#2 Sorry, 1 more question. In the (.JSON), I see this.

{
    "parent": "block/stairs",
    "textures": {
        "bottom": "blocks/planks_oak",
        "top": "blocks/planks_oak",
        "side": "blocks/planks_oak"
    }
}

So I know that "blocks/planks_oak" is the path to the texture, in Vanilla Minecraft.
However if I want to see a non-vanilla texture to this model, with a path that isn't Vanilla, would I have to get people to download a seperate file with the mod textures in it and have the paths in this file connected to that or is there a more simple way of implementing it?

Last seen on 00:21, 11. Aug 2019
Joined Aug 2013
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
No ,just import your texture
Wed, 09/21/2016 - 17:41

No ,just import your texture to MCreator in default way (In case you did not) , and just change the path to: testenvironmentmod:blocks/YOUR_TEXTURE_NAME

Last seen on 11:24, 10. Nov 2016
Joined Sep 2016
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
RE:No ,just import your texture
Wed, 09/21/2016 - 17:53

@#3 Ok so I did that and tested it and my texture is showing up like this in-game.


 

But the texture is meant to look like this...

 

 

This code I used looks like this...

{
    "parent": "block/stairs",
    "textures": {
        "bottom": "testenvironmentmod:blocks/planks_white",
        "top": "testenvironmentmod:blocks/planks_white",
        "side": "testenvironmentmod:blocks/planks_white"
    }
}

 

The texture I used and uploaded into MCreator is called 'planks_white' so I am not sure why it is coming up with an all pink texture.

Last seen on 00:21, 11. Aug 2019
Joined Aug 2013
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Look in the console , there
Wed, 09/21/2016 - 18:07

Look in the console , there should be some info/error about it

Last seen on 11:24, 10. Nov 2016
Joined Sep 2016
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
#############################
Wed, 09/21/2016 - 18:08

#################################################
         ForgeGradle 2.2-SNAPSHOT-c438b06        
  https://github.com/MinecraftForge/ForgeGradle  
#################################################
               Powered by MCP unknown               
             http://modcoderpack.com             
         by: Searge, ProfMobius, Fesh0r,         
         R4wk, ZeuX, IngisKahn, bspkrs           
#################################################
:extractMcpMappings SKIPPED
:getVersionJson
:extractUserdev UP-TO-DATE
:clean
:deobfCompileDummyTask
:deobfProvidedDummyTask
:sourceApiJava
:compileApiJava UP-TO-DATE
:processApiResources UP-TO-DATE
:apiClasses UP-TO-DATE
:sourceMainJava
:genSrgs SKIPPED
:reobfJar FAILED
FAILURE: Build failed with an exception.
* What went wrong:
Execution failed for task ':reobfJar'.
> java.io.FileNotFoundException: C:\Pylo\MCreator170\forge\build\libs\modid-1.0.jar (The system cannot find the path specified)
* Try:
Run with --stacktrace option to get the stack trace. Run with --info or --debug option to get more log output.
BUILD FAILED
Total time: 28.513 secs
C:\Pylo\MCreator170\forge>
Task completed with return code 0 in 29022 milliseconds
:compileJava
:processResources
:classes
:jar
:sourceTestJava
:compileTestJava UP-TO-DATE
:processTestResources UP-TO-DATE
:testClasses UP-TO-DATE
:test UP-TO-DATE
:extractMcpData SKIPPED
:extractMcpMappings SKIPPED
:getVersionJson
:extractUserdev UP-TO-DATE
:genSrgs SKIPPED
:reobfJar
:extractRangemapReplacedMain
C:\Pylo\MCreator170\forge\build\sources\main\java
:retromapReplacedMain
remapping source...
:sourceJar
:assemble
:check UP-TO-DATE
:build
BUILD SUCCESSFUL
Total time: 43.632 secs
C:\Pylo\MCreator170\forge>
Task completed with return code 0 in 44074 milliseconds

Last seen on 11:24, 10. Nov 2016
Joined Sep 2016
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
RE:Look in the console , there
Wed, 09/21/2016 - 18:46

@#4 Error log is above, is there anything wrong?

Also I noticed the .json contains a parent path, do I need to use those too?
And also there are 'oak_stairs' 'oak_inner_stairs' 'oak_outer_stairs"

Do I need to make individual mods for each of these?

Thanks again.

Last seen on 11:24, 10. Nov 2016
Joined Sep 2016
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
bump (still struggling with
Thu, 09/22/2016 - 17:49

bump (still struggling with what I mentioned in the last comment)