Problem Creating Ladders

Started by Bi11Cipher on Mon, 08/28/2017 - 16:57

Topic category: Help with MCreator software

Last seen on 20:52, 8. Nov 2018
Joined Aug 2017
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Problem Creating Ladders
Tue, 08/29/2017 - 16:43 (edited)

Currently I am unable to make ladders transparent, or place them next to each other without them both popping off the block. Any fixes?

EDIT: I have already found the answer to this, for anyone who is here seeking help, make sure you have "Has Alpha" checked, and that the edge of the 16x16 texture has pixels all the way around, otherwise the texture will have troubles showing. This also makes a great alternative to paintings.

Edited by Bi11Cipher on Tue, 08/29/2017 - 16:43
Last seen on 12:58, 23. Sep 2019
Joined Aug 2014
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Have you made a custom model
Mon, 08/28/2017 - 17:45

Have you made a custom model for ladders?

Last seen on 20:52, 8. Nov 2018
Joined Aug 2017
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
I have not.
Mon, 08/28/2017 - 18:22

I have not.

Last seen on 12:58, 23. Sep 2019
Joined Aug 2014
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
RE:I have not.
Mon, 08/28/2017 - 21:03

@#2 You should, it's not hard, otherwise texture will be a bit ugly and 2d (for transparent thing, try selecting cutout transparence)

Btw, have you touched the block dimensions? Those "1" on the right in the first page on block creation?

Last seen on 20:52, 8. Nov 2018
Joined Aug 2017
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
@Kane Thanks! Will do.
Mon, 08/28/2017 - 22:32

@Kane Thanks! Will do.

Last seen on 20:52, 8. Nov 2018
Joined Aug 2017
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Still unsure as far as
Mon, 08/28/2017 - 22:48

Still unsure as far as transparency goes, as Pylo for 1.7.10 does not offer transparency options as far as I can see.

Last seen on 20:52, 8. Nov 2018
Joined Aug 2017
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Also, forgot to add, have not
Mon, 08/28/2017 - 22:58

Also, forgot to add, have not touched the block dimensions.

Last seen on 14:48, 10. Nov 2018
Joined Jul 2017
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
yeah, but after you have made
Mon, 08/28/2017 - 23:27

yeah, but after you have made the ladder, how is it going to rotate when placed?

Last seen on 12:58, 23. Sep 2019
Joined Aug 2014
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
RE:Still unsure as far as
Tue, 08/29/2017 - 05:20

@#4 so you really need a custom model

To "rotate" the ladders when placed is a bit tricky cause you have to create 4 ladders blocks (1 for each side) and play with events like "when placed and block at i,j,k so place block ladders (one of your ladders block depending where you're trying to place it)".

Unfortunately I haven't tried to make something like that yet, so I cannot be more specific for now

Last seen on 20:52, 8. Nov 2018
Joined Aug 2017
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
It usually does rotate, or it
Tue, 08/29/2017 - 16:07

It usually does rotate, or it just doesn't place on the block until placing it at an angle when using the ladder from MC Pylo itself, even when placed on a flat wall with no corners for it to have a reason to rotate to, in this case rotating the ladder is unwanted, as it defeats it's purpose. Because I had wanted it to be flat, I had wanted the original ladder MC Pylo had to offer. As I was using the ladder to make something like that of a painting, but I also wanted so it could be climbed as well, so when making the model, I had simply made a flat 16x16x1 shape, which did not suit my needs.

Anyhow, I just wanted to learn to make things transparent, if anyone has an answer to that question, it would be a great help.

Last seen on 14:48, 10. Nov 2018
Joined Jul 2017
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
ok, so in Transparency option
Tue, 08/29/2017 - 16:27

ok, so in Transparency option on the 1st page, tick Check if this block has Transparency [you may need something like paint.net or gimp for the image to have transparency] and then set the box below that to Translucent [or cutout, idk]

Last seen on 20:52, 8. Nov 2018
Joined Aug 2017
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Problem solved, your texture
Tue, 08/29/2017 - 16:29

Problem solved, your texture must stretch to the ends of the block, so it has to be at least 16x16 wide, or have some of the pixels touching the edge. However, placing them next to each other will result in them both popping off.

Hope this helps anyone else who happens to be lurking.

Last seen on 20:52, 8. Nov 2018
Joined Aug 2017
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
RE:ok, so in Transparency option
Tue, 08/29/2017 - 18:05

@#8 As I had said before, there is no transparency option in the 1.7.10 version.