[TUTORIAL] How to use Nerdy's GeckoLib Plugin [2022.3] [Outdated]

Started by NerdyPuzzle on

Topic category: User side tutorials

[TUTORIAL] How to use Nerdy's GeckoLib Plugin [2022.3] [Outdated]
Sun, 04/09/2023 - 13:31 (edited)

Time to learn how to use your GeckoLib models and animations! The plugin, by default, will play 8 built-in animations (which your animations will need to be named as when making them):

  • "walk" -Walking animation (loops)
  • "idle" -Idle animation (loops)
  • "death" -Death animation
  • "swim" -Swimming animation (loops)
  • "attack" -Attack animation
  • "sneak" -Will play while the entity is crouching (can be set though a procedure block, loops)
  • "sprint" -Will play while the entity is sprinting (can be set through a procedure block, loops)
  • Support for the head movement animation which will apply to the group named as "head" in blockbench. Added as an option of the model procedure in version 1.5

These animations will not require a procedure to play (except for sneak and sprint). If you do not want to make them, don't, since you can use the procedure added in version 1.9 of the plugin to play any animation you want.

Your animation file and model file will need to start with the same name. (entity.animation.json, entity.geo.json) The animations for the built-in triggers inside the animation file need one of the names above. Delete the default name you get when creating them, there's no need for the animation.entity.new nonsense I keep seeing people use in the replies. The animations you trigger through the procedure can be named anything you want.

 

EDIT: Since some of you seem to have a bit of trouble with this, here is a screenshot showing how you structure the animations properly in blockbench:

animations

Your model will need to be a GeckoLib animated model, which is available when using the GeckoLib blockbench plugin. Java models or bedrock models made without it will NOT work unless converted. The model name needs to be lowercase and not have any spaces.

 

 

Now, onto the first step, which is obviously enabling the API and regenerating the code.

 

Once the API is enabled, you will need to create two folders in your mod's assets directory, "geo" and "animations". Drop your animation file in the animations folder and your model in the geo folder. Your texture can be imported as any regular texture is imported into MCreator.

 

files

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now that you've imported your assets, It's time to make an entity. This is as simple as it normally would be. Create your entity, and before saving it, simply set any texture to it. The model and textures you select will not matter unless you plan on using a custom Java model, which is also supported, but will not be compatible with geckolib animations.

 

entity

 

 

Take note of what you named your entity element, this will be required later. Not the name of the entity, the name of the element.

Now, you may have noticed that this gives you an error. This is fine, as we have not registered a model to it yet.

To register a model, you need to create a new procedure, which contains the name of your entity element, followed by Model with a capital M as shown below:

 

model element

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once created, select the Setup model (GeckoLib) event (renamed to Setup class in version 2.2) which is provided by the plugin, and ONLY use the procedure which is provided by the plugin to set the appropriate names of your entity, model and texture.

 

procedure

 

 

 

 

 

Save the procedure. You will get an error, which is still normal as the code of the entity has not updated, and doesn't know the new procedure exists.

 

And finally, to get rid of the error and finish setting up your GeckoLib entity, simply regenerate the code, or open and save your entity again.

 

That's it! You can now follow the same steps to add as many GeckoLib entities as you want into your mod.

 

v1.6 Update - Glow layer support tutorial

Missed them? Well, glow layers are back!

Registering a glow layer is very simple. The first step is creating a new procedure, with the name of your entity followed by Layer. You should now have three elements that look similar to the ones below. The capital letters are very important.

elements

Inside the layer procedure, select the model setup event you used in your model procedure, and use the new procedure block provided by the plugin. The model will need to be the model of the entity you're registering the layer for and the texture name will obviously be the name of the glowing texture you are registering which needs to be imported as an entity texture so the procedure can locate it.

layer

Now, the final step will be to enable the glow layer by going in your entity settings and choosing any texture for the glow layer option. Which one you choose does not matter, since the model will use the texture you specified in the procedure.

textureglow

Now, to get rid of build errors, regenerate the code and you're good to go!

Here is the result of using a glow layer on the example entity shown in the plugin page:

result

 

 

v1.8 Update - Disabling death rotation

Did you make a death animation, and yet you cannot really see it due to the way the entity rotates when it's killed?

Well, here is the solution you've been looking for!

Disabling deah rotation is possibly the simplest to use feature yet. All there is to it is selecting the built-in chicken model in your entity menu:

model

Yes, that's it. The chicken model will of course not apply to your entity, since that is retrieved from your model procedure. To change how long your entity stays dead, you will need to change the length in the entity code, which is just as simple.

Just go to the bottom of the entity code and find the lines:

@Override
	protected void tickDeath() {
		++this.deathTime;
		if (this.deathTime == 20) {
			this.remove(YourEntity.RemovalReason.KILLED);
		}
	}

And change the number after this.deathTime ==. By default, it is set to 20, which is 1 second as that is what 20 ticks translate to.

 

v1.9 Update - Play animation procedure

It's finally here! You can now trigger any animation at any time using the brand new animation procedure. It really is as simple as it sounds!

new procedure

 

v2.2 Update - New and improved animation procedure

Well... my former implementation of the animation procedure was... less than ideal. In this update I decided to replace the animation procedure with a far better version.

To use this, you need to first replace the old procedure (which will be removed after a few updates), as it is only kept in the plugin so workspaces updating versions will not break.

Here is an example of the procedure being used. It is ideal to use scoreboard scores to trigger animations (if they don't work in your procedure), as there seems to still be issues which I cannot fix.

procedure

The entity name needs to be the name of the entity element, not the display name. The animation name will of course be the name you used for your animation in blockbench.

Update: It seems using immediate source entity instead of source entity will work. Use scoreboards if it doesn't.

 

v2.4 Update - Java model support & Translucent textures

You can now use Java models alongside GeckoLib models without locking the code. 

Also, GeckoLib entities now support translucent textures. Cool stuff. Not much to explain here.

 

V2.9 Update - Animated Block element

It is now possible to make animated blocks using the geckolib plugin through the use of a new element.

(As of right now, only forge 1.18.2 and 1.19.2 are supported due to the sheer amount of work it took to make this, the rest will be supported later)

 

First off, you need to make sure that java plugins are enabled, otherwise this feature will not exist.

java

Now, you will need to import the model the same way you did with your entity models, in the same directory path. The difference here is that you will need to set the model type in blockbench to block/item when making it.

model

And you will need to export your display settings too once you're done with them. This is very important.

settingexport

Now, just make the block. Settings can be whatever you like, and you write the model name on the first page where the texture is in the text field. Same way you did with the model procedure for entities, but there instead.

modelfield

Now you will need to import your display settings file. It will need to be named the registry name of your element followed by .json. You can see your element registry name by clicking this button shown below.

registryname

Your display settings file needs to go in this folder shown down here.

directoruy

Well, that's it. Obviously GeckoLib must be enabled in workspace settings for any of this to work. Your animated block should now be there. The default animation should be named "0". That is the animation that will always be playing. (UPDATED) Other animations can be triggered using the new block animation procedure. It uses numbers ranging from 1-1000 as the animation name due to limitations I faced while getting them to actually work.

 

V3.5 Update - Animated Item element

It is now possible to make animated items using the geckolib plugin through the use of a new element.

(As of right now, only forge 1.18.2 and 1.19.2 are supported, other versions will be available  later)

 

First off, you need to make sure that java plugins are enabled, otherwise this feature will not exist, just like animated blocks.

Now, you will need to import the model the same way you did with your entity models, in the same directory path. The difference here is that you will need to set the model type in blockbench to block/item when making it, just like blocks, which is shown above.

 

And you will need to export your display settings too once you're done with them. This is very important. This is what will display the actual item, otherwise you'll just be getting a black and purple box. Once again, this is just the same as animated blocks.

 

Now, just make the item. Settings can be whatever you like, and you write the model name on the first page where the texture is in the text field. Same way you did with the model procedure for entities, but there instead.

field

Now you will need to import your display settings file. It will need to be named the registry name of your element followed by .json. You can see your element registry name by clicking the button shown above in the animated block tutorial.

Your display settings file needs to go in the same folder that your animated block display settings would go. (in case you didn't know, this is shown above in the animated block tutorial!)

 

Well, that's it. Simple enough? It sure should be. The default animation that will always loop should be named "idle", and any other animations will need to be played using the item animation procedure. You can see an example below.

procedure

 

 

 

 

If you have not yet installed the plugin, you can find it here.

 

If you are updating versions and you get an error for the model or glow procedures, simply open them and the entity, save them, and finally regenerate the code. If that doesn't work for some reason, just remake the procedure. This issue can be caused due to the change in the code between versions 3.0 and 3.1 of GeckoLib.

 

If spawning your entity causes a crash, one of the below reasons is the cause:


-You used uppercase letters or spaces in the model name.
-You didn't create a GeckoLib model.
-You placed your files in the wrong location. Check that the geo and animations folders are in the assets/yourmod'sID folder.
-You didn't write the model name correctly in the procedure.
-You enabled the head animation, but there is no group in your model that is named "head"
-Your animation or model file name is incorrect. Check the valid names at the top of the tutorial.

If none of these are the issue, look through the replies to this post before asking for help. It is very likely that someone else had the same issue and the solution has been posted.

Edited by NerdyPuzzle on Sun, 04/09/2023 - 13:31
Kiseki, there's some weird…
Fri, 10/28/2022 - 15:31

Kiseki, there's some weird bug that I can't figure out with the procedure not working properly if there are a lot of other procedures included with it, make it so it gives the entity a potion for 2 ticks instead, and add a new if at the end that plays the animation if the potion is active.

Joined Jun 2022
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Hi , I love this tutorial…
Fri, 10/28/2022 - 15:56

Hi , I love this tutorial but i keep getting this error at the end of the setup...


Executing Gradle task: build
Build info: MCreator 2022.2.34517, forge-1.18.2, 64-bit, 3460 MB, Windows 11, JVM 17.0.3, JAVA_HOME: C:\Users\leroy\Downloads\MCreator.2022.2.Windows.64bit\MCreator20222\jdk, started on: 2022-10-28-17:48:07

> Configure project :
The code of this workspace uses official obfuscation mappings provided by Mojang. These mappings fall under their associated license you should be fully aware of.
(c) 2020 Microsoft Corporation. These mappings are provided "as-is" and you bear the risk of using them. You may copy and use the mappings for development purposes,
but you may not redistribute the mappings complete and unmodified. Microsoft makes no warranties, express or implied, with respect to the mappings provided here.
Use and modification of this document or the source code (in any form) of Minecraft: Java Edition is governed by the Minecraft End User License Agreement available
at https://account.mojang.com/documents/minecraft_eula.

> Task :compileJava
C:\Users\leroy\MCreatorWorkspaces\occultis\src\main\java\net\mcreator\occultis\procedures\PhoenixModelProcedure.java:16: error: cannot find symbol public class PhoenixModelProcedure extends AnimatedGeoModel<PhoenixEntity> {
^
symbol: class AnimatedGeoModel
C:\Users\leroy\MCreatorWorkspaces\occultis\src\main\java\net\mcreator\occultis\procedures\PhoenixModelProcedure.java:17: error: method does not override or implement a method from a supertype @Override
^
C:\Users\leroy\MCreatorWorkspaces\occultis\src\main\java\net\mcreator\occultis\procedures\PhoenixModelProcedure.java:22: error: method does not override or implement a method from a supertype @Override
^
C:\Users\leroy\MCreatorWorkspaces\occultis\src\main\java\net\mcreator\occultis\procedures\PhoenixModelProcedure.java:27: error: method does not override or implement a method from a supertype @Override
^
4 errors
> Task :compileJava FAILED
FAILURE: Build failed with an exception.
* What went wrong:
Execution failed for task ':compileJava'.
> Compilation failed; see the compiler error output for details.
* Try:
> Run with --stacktrace option to get the stack trace.
> Run with --info or --debug option to get more log output.
> Run with --scan to get full insights.
* Get more help at https://help.gradle.org
BUILD FAILED in 8s
1 actionable task: 1 executed

BUILD FAILED
Task completed in 11 seconds
Joined Jun 2022
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
(No subject)
Fri, 10/28/2022 - 16:22

Joined Jun 2022
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Thank you, You really helped…
Fri, 10/28/2022 - 17:05

Thank you, You really helped me [also sry for bad english i'm french]

Joined Nov 2019
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
It seems like the custom…
Fri, 10/28/2022 - 18:03

It seems like the custom trigger not playing is not because there is too much procedure. Because when I tried making it so it gave the entity a potion for 2 ticks instead, and added a new if at the end that plays the animation if the potion is active.

And this doesn't work. and only the sprinting and sneaking check works Which means that it doesn't change anything you're still limited to playing 2 animations sneak and sprint what's different is that you can rename it.

Joined Nov 2019
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
NBT tags also don't works
Fri, 10/28/2022 - 18:10

NBT tags also don't works

Red Tofu, if nbt tags dont…
Fri, 10/28/2022 - 18:36

Red Tofu, if nbt tags dont work in certain procedures, then that's the issue since I use nbt tags to store the animation name. Try and use the animation procedure in a loaded entity tick event procedure with the condition checked in there. If I can't find the issue I'll find another way to store the animation name.

Joined Nov 2019
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Nah didn't work and it also …
Fri, 10/28/2022 - 19:24

Nah didn't work and it also  has the problem in the same way the procedure has can't have condition another than sneak and sprint.

Joined Nov 2019
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Nah didn't work and it also…
Fri, 10/28/2022 - 19:29

Nah didn't work and it also has the problem in the same way the procedure can't have conditions other than sneak and sprint.

Sentence fix

Joined Nov 2019
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
So they are basically the…
Fri, 10/28/2022 - 19:39

So they are basically the same acts the same with same problem

Joined Nov 2019
Points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Weird It works when you quit…
Fri, 10/28/2022 - 19:57

Weird It works when you quit and rejoins the game