How to get Tabula models to work in MCreator (For Minecraft versions 1.8 and above)

Started by Vegetto on Sun, 03/19/2017 - 00:03
Last seen on 01:27, 18. May 2018
Joined Jan 2015
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
How to get Tabula models to work in MCreator (For Minecraft versions 1.8 and above)
Wed, 01/31/2018 - 17:46 (edited)

So today i thought i would make this little tutorial on how to use models imported from Tabula in MCreator. Now unfortunately, this won't work for Minecraft 1.7.10. It can only work for 1.8 and above. (Well, the models work, but i can't find any way of animating the models in 1.7.10 since the codes i tried didn't work. But they work in 1.8 and above)

So first off, you are going to want to open Tabula. When you install it, click on the T to open it.

 

Next, you are gonig to want to start or select your model. Note that this is not a tutorial on parenting the model nor modelling itself. What you do to start making the model, click the blank page with the green plus in the top left corner.

 

Once you have your model done, I am using the Bamster model from my World Trigger mod as an example, you are going to want to make sure you have it completed. Also decide whether or not you are going to scale the model or not.

 

Then you click on the blank page with the red arrow. To get a file to use to texture your model, select texturemap. Not project texture. To export, click Java class.

 

Next what you will want to do is you will have to make sure the name of your model is spelt correctly. Make sure that it matches the name of the class but has "Model" infront of it. For example, i will have named the class for the Bamster "Bamster" in MCreator. If I import the model just being called "Bamster", you will get errors. So when exporting it, make it like "ModelBamster". No spaces between "Model" and the name of your mob. Also make sure the M is capitalized. In the package for class section, make sure you put net.minecraft.src. Do not put anything else there besides that otherwise you will get errors.

 

Lastly, I am unsure how to take screenshots of notepad ++, so you are going to have to read carefully. If you scaled your model, open up the export and remove all imports. They are not necessary. The imports you should remove look like this:

"import net.minecraft.client.model.ModelBase;
import net.minecraft.client.model.ModelRenderer;
import net.minecraft.entity.Entity;
import net.minecraft.client.renderer.GlStateManager;
import org.lwjgl.opengl.GL11;"

 

After that, you will want to go into MCreator and create a mob class. Like said before, put in the exact name for your model. (minus the model part). And do everything else like you normally would.

 

If you want to have animations to work, i am afraid i can only help with the simple walking animation. MCreator does not recognize Tabula models for it's animation segment, but taking the code from a model that was previously animated in MCreator, that will just work fine. 

Look for the code that looks like this: 

"   public void setRotateAngle(ModelRenderer modelRenderer, float x, float y, float z) {
        modelRenderer.rotateAngleX = x;
        modelRenderer.rotateAngleY = y;
        modelRenderer.rotateAngleZ = z;
    }
}

"

It should be all the way at the bottom. Simply replace it with the following code:

"

public void setRotationAngles(float f, float f1, float f2, float f3, float f4, float f5, Entity entity)
{
super.setRotationAngles(f, f1, f2, f3, f4, f5, entity);
this.HEAD.rotateAngleY = f3 / (180F / (float)Math.PI);
this.HEAD.rotateAngleX = f4 / (180F / (float)Math.PI);
this.LEFTARM.rotateAngleX = MathHelper.cos(f * 1.0F) * -1.0F * f1;
this.RIGHTARM.rotateAngleX = MathHelper.cos(f * 1.0F) * 1.0F * f1;
this.LEFTLEG.rotateAngleX = MathHelper.cos(f * 0.6662F + (float)Math.PI) * 2.0F * f1 * 0.5F;
this.RIGHTLEG.rotateAngleX = MathHelper.cos(f * 0.6662F) * 2.0F * f1 * 0.5F;
}

}

"

Then replace the capitalized portions with the corresponding piece in your model. For example, if the piece you want animated is titled "Shape55" replace the corresponding part with "Shape55". Also yes, there has to be two parts for the head area.

 

Anyways, that concludes the little tutorial. Hope you can find it useful.

Edited by Klemen on Wed, 01/31/2018 - 17:46
Last seen on 19:56, 21. May 2018
Joined Apr 2010
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
  • wiki contributor
  • moderator
  • developer
Good tutorial. We are also
Sun, 03/19/2017 - 18:58

Good tutorial. We are also looking for official solutions regarding Techne, but for now, this guide could be useful!

Last seen on 02:40, 21. May 2018
Joined Feb 2015
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
This seems cool. I like it.
Mon, 03/20/2017 - 04:10

This seems cool. I like it.

Last seen on 08:40, 19. May 2018
Joined Dec 2014
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
RE:Good tutorial. We are also
Mon, 03/20/2017 - 18:16

@#1 Tabula is ONLY compatible with 1.7.10. I like Tabula, but MCAnimator is a perfect replacement for Techne.

Last seen on 08:40, 19. May 2018
Joined Dec 2014
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
RE:RE:Good tutorial. We are also
Mon, 03/20/2017 - 18:17

@#1 *1.8

Last seen on 09:40, 20. May 2018
Joined Apr 2016
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
Tabula
Mon, 03/20/2017 - 19:10

I used tabula for the 1.10 version and still use it for 1.11.2 and it works fine. Mcanimator is the one that doesn't work right for me.

Last seen on 06:19, 28. Mar 2017
Joined Mar 2017
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
Oh ya. We definitely need a
Mon, 03/27/2017 - 21:10

Oh ya. We definitely need a Techne replacement since Techne got taken down. MCAnimator and MCModeller seem to be great choices. Also pls make it mac compatible! I'm sick of using the ghast model over and over.

Last seen on 18:28, 12. Apr 2018
Joined Dec 2016
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
For Some reason tabula doesnt
Mon, 05/01/2017 - 18:52

For Some reason tabula doesnt work for me and forge just says for only 1.8 "Your minecraft launcher is installed improperly" or something like that!

Last seen on 01:27, 18. May 2018
Joined Jan 2015
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
RE:For Some reason tabula doesnt
Mon, 05/01/2017 - 20:52

@#5 are you sure you used the right forge version/installed the mod correctly?

Last seen on 18:28, 12. Apr 2018
Joined Dec 2016
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
Yup, Forge 1.11.2 Works
Tue, 05/02/2017 - 19:20

Yup, Forge 1.11.2 Works perfectly fine but 1.8 doesnt.But does it have to be a exact exact version of forge to work?

Last seen on 01:27, 18. May 2018
Joined Jan 2015
User points:

Statistics:

  • Comments:
  • Forum topics:
  • Modifications:
  • Wiki pages:
RE:Yup, Forge 1.11.2 Works
Wed, 05/03/2017 - 21:42

@#6 I'm not sure, but you should use what will most likely work for it. I am using 1.8 forge 11.14.4.1563