[Solved] Lightning broken in custom dimensions

Started by MattiDragon835 on Sat, 05/23/2020 - 12:33

Topic category: Help with modding (Java Edition)

Last seen on 05:59, 3. Jun 2020
Joined Jun 2018
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • Comments:
[Solved] Lightning broken in custom dimensions
Sat, 05/30/2020 - 12:27 (edited)

I made a custom dimension and the sky light is kind of broken.

 

I can't get a URL for these images so i had to put them in a shared folder on google drive: Here and Here

First look at the image called Light.jpeg. The f3 overlay shows that the skylight is 15(red) but the daylight sensor in day mode(yellow) doesn't give any output(blue).

 

I also put a screenshot of the setting for the dimension there.

 

Thanks for your time

Edited by MattiDragon835 on Sat, 05/30/2020 - 12:27
Last seen on 21:43, 5. Jun 2020
Joined Apr 2020
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • Comments:
I can't seem to access Light…
Sat, 05/23/2020 - 17:32

I can't seem to access Light.jpg. Maybe repost a separate link for it?

Last seen on 21:43, 5. Jun 2020
Joined Apr 2020
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • Comments:
From what I understand,…
Sat, 05/23/2020 - 17:36

From what I understand, there is a problem with the daylight sensor, not the light itself. If the drossom biome is made of customized blocks, you might have turned off red stone compatibility for the custom block, not allowing the sensor to send a signal. Hope this helps

Last seen on 05:59, 3. Jun 2020
Joined Jun 2018
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • Comments:
No. The problem is not in…
Sun, 05/24/2020 - 06:57

No. The problem is not in the sensor because it works when it's daytime. 

I also added the other link.

Last seen on 21:43, 5. Jun 2020
Joined Apr 2020
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • Comments:
I think you misunderstood me…
Tue, 05/26/2020 - 17:08

I think you misunderstood me. You may have turned off Redstone connection to your ultez grass, so the sensor does not produce a signal. Also, daylight sensors produce a pulse and not a constant signal, so that may also be a problem.

Last seen on 05:59, 3. Jun 2020
Joined Jun 2018
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • Comments:
First of all redstone…
Wed, 05/27/2020 - 14:46

First of all redstone connection makes redstone dust connect to the block not make it solid for redstone. Second my problem is that f3 doesn't show the light correctly not that the daylight sensor doesn't work or something. The daylight sensor was only used ass an example that it's not just always day.

Last seen on 21:43, 5. Jun 2020
Joined Apr 2020
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • Comments:
Then I don't know whats…
Fri, 05/29/2020 - 19:12

Then I don't know whats happening. This is an interesting bug, you may want to repost it in the bugs forum.

Last seen on 05:59, 3. Jun 2020
Joined Jun 2018
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • Comments:
I got it now. I had to…
Sat, 05/30/2020 - 12:27

I got it now. I had to enable the disable global light source option. The reason being that global light sources light things up even at night time.

 

I hate when you need to configure two settings to make something work. Btw this is also the case with gases.

Last seen on 21:43, 5. Jun 2020
Joined Apr 2020
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • Comments:
Good job figuring it out…
Sun, 05/31/2020 - 02:41

Good job figuring it out though.