How to change the inventory icon for a 3D model block?

Started by marneman on Fri, 04/28/2017 - 13:13

Topic category: Help with MCreator software

Last seen on 08:40, 25. Mar 2018
Joined Apr 2017
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
How to change the inventory icon for a 3D model block?
Fri, 04/28/2017 - 13:13 (edited)

I have a custom block made from a larger 3D model. It takes up 3 blocks in width. Unfortunately, the icon for it spans over into the adjacent inventory blocks (see attached image). Is there some way to make a custom icon for it to override the default one? Normally, it isn't a problem, since the blocks are all the same size. But in this case, I need to figure out a way to do it if possible. Thanks!

http://scottburkett.com/uploads/mcss.png

Edited by marneman on Fri, 04/28/2017 - 13:13
Last seen on 08:40, 25. Mar 2018
Joined Apr 2017
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Hmm image is broken, let me
Fri, 04/28/2017 - 13:13

Hmm image is broken, let me try and fix that.

Last seen on 19:30, 3. Sep 2018
Joined Feb 2016
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
It's strange....my custom 3d
Fri, 04/28/2017 - 13:28

It's strange....my custom 3d block (larger then 1x1x1) works fine, model and item....

Try to go in C:\Pylo\MCreator175\user\json\models\item and try to look and change rotation and scale (obviusly if you're not using MCreator for 1.11.2, change 175 with your version).If it doesn't work, i really don't know....

Last seen on 08:40, 25. Mar 2018
Joined Apr 2017
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
I made the models using Cubik
Fri, 04/28/2017 - 13:33

I made the models using Cubik. This is what it says currently. I will play around with it:

{
    "parent": "testenvironmentmod:block/brpendtabledarkoak",
    "display": {
        "thirdperson": {
            "rotation": [ 10, -45, 170 ],
            "translation": [ 0, 1.5, -2.75 ],
            "scale": [ 0.375, 0.375, 0.375 ]
        }
    }
}

 

Last seen on 08:40, 25. Mar 2018
Joined Apr 2017
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Here is what it looks like it
Fri, 04/28/2017 - 13:39

Here is what it looks like it Cubik ... exactly as it is shown in the inventory screen lol. So do I need to constrain it within the middle block, and then adjust the scale manually or something?

http://scottburkett.com/uploads/mcss2.png

Last seen on 23:57, 20. Aug 2020
Joined Apr 2018
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
I have the same problem
Thu, 07/05/2018 - 19:41

I have the same problem

Last seen on 10:39, 20. Apr 2020
Joined Jan 2018
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
In the red texture field of…
Mon, 07/16/2018 - 17:00

In the red texture field of the block, select a texture that you want it to show.

Last seen on 23:57, 20. Aug 2020
Joined Apr 2018
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
I found a way to do it (Red…
Tue, 07/17/2018 - 10:52

I found a way to do it (Red texture field is not working for me)

Last seen on 12:39, 23. Jun 2020
Joined Mar 2016
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Try this, and change the …
Tue, 07/17/2018 - 15:50

Try this, and change the "scale" part in the "gui" to something that fits well. You can also play with the "rotation" part if you want.

 

{
    "parent": "testenvironmentmod:block/brpendtabledarkoak",
    "display": {
        "thirdperson": {
            "rotation": [ 10, -45, 170 ],
            "translation": [ 0, 1.5, -2.75 ],
            "scale": [ 0.375, 0.375, 0.375 ]
        },

        "gui": {
            "rotation": [ 30, 225, 0 ],
            "translation": [ 0, 0, 0],
            "scale":[ 0.625, 0.625, 0.625 ]
        }
    }
}

Last seen on 16:14, 8. Sep 2018
Joined Jan 2016
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Blockbench works for me and…
Sun, 08/05/2018 - 19:23

Blockbench works for me and you can edit the translation, rotation really easy. 

Last seen on 14:00, 31. Mar 2020
Joined Nov 2018
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
MCreator seems to re-write…
Mon, 11/19/2018 - 15:48

MCreator seems to re-write the model files every time it compiles the mod (This should be optional).

Last seen on 23:57, 20. Aug 2020
Joined Apr 2018
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
Yeah, I hate it
Wed, 11/21/2018 - 09:15

Yeah, I hate it

Last seen on 20:36, 15. Dec 2019
Joined Sep 2018
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
if you use Cubik you can…
Thu, 11/22/2018 - 01:26

if you use Cubik you can edit how it looks in the inventory, in the left hand, in the right hand, etc.

Adjusting it in Preview mode and then in settings, in the minecraft tab, activate the option that says: Custom Displays Settings and then click ok and export the model.

Last seen on 05:52, 18. Sep 2020
Joined Apr 2010
User points:

User statistics:

  • Modifications:
  • Forum topics:
  • Wiki pages:
  • Tracker tickets:
  • MCreator plugins:
  • Comments:
I might still consider…
Thu, 11/22/2018 - 17:06

I might still consider adding the option for a plain flat texture (I guess this is not possible to do with modelers?), but you made a good point BadKaiPanda.